Today, Governor Rick Scott announced the selection of Evelyn Cahn Keiser, Charlotte Edwards Maguire, M.D., and Mary Lee Farrior to the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame. Governor Scott chose these three individuals from a group of ten distinguished nominees selected by the Florida Commission on the Status of Women.  They were considered for their work in making significant improvements in life for women and all citizens of Florida.

Governor Scott said, “For their significant contributions to the state of Florida, I am pleased to induct three female leaders into the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame. The work of these three women to improve education, provide health treatment, create jobs and help those less fortunate has made our state a better place to live and is a reason why Florida is known for our spirit of innovation.”

Keiser, 91, of Ft. Lauderdale, is the co-founder and Chairwoman Emeritus of Keiser University.  Keiser University is Florida’s second largest independent university. Keiser is a pioneer in higher education holding the positions of co-founder, instructor, program director, and chairman of the Board of Advisors. She received her bachelor’s degree from Temple University.  In 2004, she was awarded an honorary doctorate from Beijing University.

Maguire, (1918-2014), formerly of Tallahassee, was the first female pediatrician in private practice of medicine in Orlando, Florida. She was the first woman physician to be president of the Florida Pediatric Society and was the delegate to the World Health Conference in London. In 1969, she was the Assistant Secretary of the Florida Department of Health and Rehabilitative Services. In 1971, she was one of the highest ranking women in the federal government under the Nixon administration, as Assistant Secretary of Health and Scientific Affairs. In 2013, she received the Great Floridian award from Governor Scott and was a driving force in creating the College of Medicine at Florida State University.

Farrior, 77, is the founder and a member for the board of directors of Mary Lee’s House, a community collaboration committed to protecting, respecting, and healing the children of abuse and neglect. She has been given several awards for recognition of her community service, including: The Junior League of Tampa Bay Lifetime Commitment Award in 2007, the 25th Lightning Community Heroes of the year award, and 2014 Outstanding Citizen of the Year award from the Tampa Metro Civitan Club.


Comments are closed.