TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Today, during a meeting of Florida’s Cabinet, Governor Rick Scott recognized five outstanding educators with Governor’s Shine Awards. Each teacher has been recognized as a 2016 Teacher of the Year for their county or school.

Governor Rick Scott said, “I am proud to recognize five of Florida’s top teachers today for working hard to make sure our students receive the best education possible. Each of these educators has demonstrated a commitment to their classroom by inspiring students to achieve their dreams and prepare for their future careers.”

The following educators were awarded the Governor’s Shine Award:

Julie Arasi, Leon County – Arasi teaches third grade at Kate Sullivan Elementary and is currently pursuing a master’s degree at Florida State University. She is the 2016 Teacher of the Year for Leon County.

Mary Burr, Leon County – Burr teaches middle school advanced math and pre-algebra at Florida State University School. She is the Florida State University School 2016 Teacher of the Year.

Arnett Moore, Leon County – Moore is a band director and teaches music education at Florida A&M University Developmental Research School. Moore is 2016 Teacher of the Year at Florida A&M University Developmental Research School.

Lori Pirzer, Alachua County – Pirzer is the band director for Oak View Middle School. Under her direction, band participation has doubled and has also received superior ratings at statewide music competitions. Pirzer also helps lead the Summer Band program that serves almost 200 students each summer. She is the Alachua County 2016 Teacher of the Year.

Laurie Zentz, St. Johns County – Zentz is the middle school band director at Switzerland Point Middle School. She is also a music clinician and presenter at state education conferences throughout the country. She was recognized as Florida’s 2013 representative in “Fifty Band Directors Who Make a Difference,” and as the 2004 Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year. Zentz is St. Johns County 2016 Teacher of the Year.



Comments are closed.