Governor Rick Scott Presents Shine Awards to Three District Teachers of the Year

Today, during a meeting of the Florida Cabinet, Governor Rick Scott recognized three outstanding educators for their contributions to learning with the Governor’s Shine Awards. The Shine Award is presented to Florida educators who have impacted the lives of students through the classroom. The teachers who were recognized during the Florida Cabinet meeting were recently named District Teachers of the Year for their respective counties.

Governor Scott said, “These three county Teachers of the Year work hard to ensure each of their students has the opportunity to receive a high-quality education, and it is an honor to present them with the Shine Award. Teachers play a fundamental role in sculpting the minds of our youth, and Florida’s education system is one of the best in the nation thanks to the diligence and dedication of our teachers.”

Shine Award Recipients:

Daryl Cullipher, St. Johns County, St. Augustine High School – Daryl Cullipher teaches English at St. Augustine High School and has worked within the St. Johns County School District for seven years. Throughout her career, she has been a perpetuator of a simple teaching philosophy: get students excited and energetic about learning. To foster this goal, she is a master of cooperative learning, service learning and utilizes the most cutting edge technology. She also co-founded the Academy of Future Teachers and played a pivotal role in earning “Model Academy” status from the National Coalition of Career Academies. In addition, she is lead teacher for the academy and an advisor for the academy’s Florida Future Educators of America Chapter. Consequently, she is a known leader in her school and serves as the English Department Chair, guest PLC facilitator, and a mentor to new teachers Her classroom has an open door policy for students from surrounding colleges like Flagler College, St. Johns River State College and University of North Florida to observe, learn and intern.

Susan Marino, Walton County, Emerald Coast Middle School – Susan Marino has been an educator at Emerald Coast Middle School since 2012. She has taught Spanish I and II, Beginning Spanish and Elementary Spanish. She strives to set a high and consistent expectation of success for students within any subject matter that she teaches and at every grade level. Her personal motto and one of her classroom rules is “Be Positive.” This mentality permeates her actions on a daily basis: lesson planning based on standards and integration of technology, addressing student concerns in a proactive manner and incorporating their ideas into lessons, managing misbehavior in an equitable and procedural manner and valuing student participation on all levels.

Jana Pavlus, Escambia County, Woodham Middle School – Jana Pavlus has been serving as a 7th grade science teacher at Woodham Middle School for four years. She has been known for “capturing kids’ hearts” and making a difference in the lives of her students. In her relationship with her students, she has been open and honest about herself and her life. This has allowed the students to build a strong bond and grow deeper themselves.

Each of Florida’s 67 school districts selects a Teacher of the Year who is then considered for statewide recognition. The Florida Teacher of the Year is chosen from 192,000 public school teachers throughout the state by a selection committee representing teachers, principals, parents and the business community. Florida’s top educator is selected on the basis of the superior ability to teach and communicate knowledge of the subject taught, professional development, philosophy of teaching and outstanding school and community service. The most important qualification is the teacher’s ability to inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities.


Comments are closed.