Governor Scott Announces AA-USA Food & Logistics Solutions as an Innovator in Business

Awards honor businesses for job creation, entrepreneurship, and export growth and excellence

Today, Governor Rick Scott, along with Secretary of Commerce and President & CEO of Enterprise Florida (EFI) Gray Swoope, announced Tampa based AA-USA Food & Logistic Solutions as a Governor’s Innovator in Business at the 2013 Governor’s Innovators in Business Awards. The awards recognize Florida companies in select industries that have influenced the state’s economic growth and diversification over the last year.

AA-USA Food & Logistic Solutions of Hillsborough County won the Newcomer Award in a mega market which includes winners in counties with a population 800,001 and higher.

Governor Scott said, “Small businesses are major drivers of our economy and it is great to see a success story like AA-USA Food & Logistic Solutions be recognized for their hard work and dedication to growing jobs for Florida families. I congratulate them on this honor and look forward to their continued success in Tampa Bay.”

Secretary of Commerce Swoope said, “Florida and its companies continue to be the model for economic recovery and growth. Companies from every industry around the state have helped produce jobs and provide opportunities that companies in other states just haven’t been able to match. They truly deserve to be recognized for their resilience, innovation and achievements. On behalf of EFI, congratulations to each of these worthy companies and we look forward to their continued success.”

EFI has hosted the annual program for 30 years. The winners are chosen by a panel of judges that includes business leaders, past winners and EFI staff. Winners were recognized at a special event in the Governor’s Mansion this evening. The event was sponsored by Bank of America and Florida Trend magazine.

AA-USA Food & Logistic Solutions provides a wide range of food products to hotels, fine dining restaurants, catering companies and the retail sector around the world. The company’s opportunities have been strengthened by the relationships they have with the Port of Tampa and Tampa International Airport.

Deputy CEO of AA-USA Food & Logistic Solutions Carlo Rami said, “Working as close as we do with the Port of Tampa, the Defense Logistics Agency and, of course, Ybor City, we have been able to network with so many wonderful people in these communities. The relationships we have developed at MacDill Air Force Base through our DLA designation have been a testament to the dedication shown in helping small businesses flourish in the Sunshine State. Our rapid rise in the global food supply and distribution arena, from setting our cornerstone in Ybor to building relationships tying Europe and the Middle East to Florida and to our enjoyable success, is truly due to the warm and friendly business climate here in Florida. Governor Scott has repeatedly shown a sense of understanding when seeing the challenges small businesses face in today’s global economy. Business and economic growth is a cause the governor is behind, and we see an exciting future ahead for AA-USA in Florida!”

Three awards were given in each of the following categories:

  • Governor’s Business Expansion Award: Florida companies that expanded their operations in 2012, investing capital and creating jobs for Floridians.
  • Governor’s Newcomer Award: New-to-Florida companies that began business operations in 2012.
  • Governor’s Export Excellence Award: Florida companies with new or significant increases in documented export sales in 2012.
  • Governor’s Innovation/Entrepreneurship Award: Florida start-up companies or innovative companies that have set a standard for entrepreneurship and creativity in the past three years.
  • Governor’s Innovation in Tourism and Hospitality Award: Florida companies that best exemplify innovation developed through product or process in the last three years.
  • Governor’s Rising Star Awards: Rising Florida companies that have shown a commitment to business growth, professional excellence and involvement in their communities.

To see the full list of this year’s winners please click here.



Comments are closed.