## THIRTEENTH CIRCUIT JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES APPLICANTS FOR CIRCUIT COURT JUDICIAL VACANCIES

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 3, 2023

CONTACT: Maximillian Amster, Chair, max@veridismgmt.com Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission

TELEPHONE: (813) 575-2266

As a result of the circuit court vacancies created by the retirement of Judge Vivian Corvo and the resignation of Judge Rex Barbas in the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Governor Ron DeSantis has convened the Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission to select and submit the names of highly qualified candidates to fill the vacancies. The following individuals have applied for the vacancies:

## **Circuit Court Vacancy Applicants**

Judge Michael C. Baggé-Hernández Alicia Whiting Bozich Christine S. Brown Judge Jessica G. Costello Travis J. Coy Matthew L. Felix Judge Michael J. Hooi E. Michael Isaak Ashley Ivanov Joseph W. Kudia Judge J. Logan Murphy Sara K. Peacock Shirin Rustomji Judge Leslie Schultz-Kin Natalia B. Silver Judge Joseph M. Tompkins Judge Miriam V. Valkenburg

The Commission encourages and seeks comments regarding the qualifications of these applicants from the public and from members of the Bench and Bar. Comments may be addressed to Max Amster, Chair, Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission, and emailed to <a href="max@veridismgmt.com">max@veridismgmt.com</a>, or mailed to Max Amster, 1700 S. MacDill Ave, Suite 300, Tampa, FL 33629. Comments must be received **no later than 12:00 p.m.** on **July 13, 2023**, to be considered by the Commission.

Interviews will be conducted on **August 3<sup>rd</sup>**, at Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP, Bank of America Plaza, 101 E Kennedy Blvd Suite 2800, Tampa, FL 33602. Applicants will be contacted to confirm the time and location of the interviews. A complete interview schedule will be published in advance of the interviews. A remote appearance option will also be made available for the public to attend the interviews.

All proceedings of the Commission are open to the public except for deliberations. Questions about the application or interview process should be directed to the Chair, Max Amster or Vice Chair, Pedro Bajo.

The members of the Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission are: Maximillian Amster, Chair, <a href="max@veridismgmt.com">max@veridismgmt.com</a>, 813-575-2266
Pedro Bajo, Vice Chair, <a href="pbajo@bcalaw.com">pbajo@bcalaw.com</a>, 813-223-3130
Michael Beltran, <a href="mailto:Mike.Beltran@myfloridahouse.gov">Mike.Beltran@myfloridahouse.gov</a>, 813-653-7097
Elise Engle, <a href="mailto:eengle@shutts.com">eengle@shutts.com</a>, 813-463-4934
Andrew J. Mayts, Jr., <a href="mailto:amayts@shumaker.com">amayts@shumaker.com</a>, 813-227-2248
Chad Mizelle, <a href="mailto:chadmizelle87@gmail.com">chadmizelle87@gmail.com</a>, 863-712-1833
Diego Pestana, <a href="mailto:dpestana@suarezlawfirm.com">dpestana@suarezlawfirm.com</a>, 352-346-1220
Matthew Hall, <a href="mailto:Matthew.Hall@hwhlaw.com">Matthew.Hall@hwhlaw.com</a>, 813-227-8479
Charles Reynolds, <a href="mailto:creynolds@tysonmendes.com">creynolds@tysonmendes.com</a>, 954-361-6984