FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

January 8, 2024

CONTACT: Maximillian Amster, Chair, max@veridismgmt.com

Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission

TELEPHONE: (813) 575-2266

THIRTEENTH CIRCUIT JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES APPLICANTS FOR COUNTY COURT AND CIRCUIT COURT JUDICIAL VACANCIES

As a result of the two county court vacancies created by the appointments of Judge Hooi and Judge Tompkins to the circuit court bench and the one circuit court vacancy created by the resignation of Chief Judge Ficarrotta in the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Governor Ron DeSantis has convened the Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission to select and submit the names of highly qualified candidates to fill the vacancies. The following individuals have applied for the vacancies:

County Court Vacancy Applicants

E. Christopher Abdoney Adam L. Bantner, II Christopher E. Brown Christine Shiver Brown

Travis J. Coy Christopher S. Dutton

Matthew L. Felix Jeremy R. Griner E. Michael Isaak Jennifer P. Johnson

Joseph W. Kudia Jennifer Lima-Smith

Elba Martin

Andrew J. McGinley Bennett M. Miller

Sara K. Peacock Bartos

Albert M. Perotti

Teresa O. Prescott

Shirin Rustomji

Natalia B. Silver

Judge W. Michael Thornton

Alicia Whiting Bozich

Circuit Court Vacancy Applicants

Judge Michael C. Baggé-Hernández

Travis J. Coy

Christopher S. Dutton Christine Shiver Brown

Matthew L. Felix

Joseph W. Kudia

Jennifer Lima-Smith

Andrew J. McGinley

Judge J. Logan Murphy

Teresa O. Prescott

Shirin Rustomji

Judge Leslie Schultz-Kin

Natalia B. Silver

Judge W. Michael Thornton Alicia Whiting Bozich

The Commission encourages and seeks comments regarding the qualifications of these applicants from the public and from members of the Bench and Bar. Comments may be addressed to Max Amster, Chair, Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission, and emailed to max@veridismgmt.com, or mailed to Max Amster, 1700 S. MacDill Ave, Suite 300, Tampa, FL

33629. Comments must be received **no later than 12:00 p.m.** on **January 12, 2024**, to be considered by the Commission.

Interviews will be conducted on **January 22, 2024,** at Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP, Bank of America Plaza, 101 E Kennedy Blvd Suite 2800, Tampa, FL 33602. Applicants will be contacted to confirm the time and location of the interviews. A complete interview schedule will be published in advance of the interviews. A remote appearance option will also be made available for the public to attend the interviews.

All proceedings of the Commission are open to the public except for deliberations. Questions about the application or interview process should be directed to the Chair, Max Amster, or Vice Chair, Pedro Bajo.

The members of the Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission are:

Maximillian Amster, Chair, max@veridismgmt.com, 813-575-2266

Pedro Bajo, Vice Chair, pbajo@bcalaw.com, 813-223-3130

Michael Beltran, Mike.Beltran@myfloridahouse.gov, 813-653-7097

Candace Rich, Candace. A. Garcia@gmail.com, 813-274-6000

Andrew J. Mayts, Jr., amayts@shumaker.com, 813-227-2248

Chad Mizelle, chadmizelle87@gmail.com, 863-712-1833

Diego Pestana, dpestana@suarezlawfirm.com, 352-346-1220

Matthew Hall, mhall@bradley.com, 813-559-5523

Charles Reynolds, creynolds@tysonmendes.com, 954-361-6984