STATE OF FLORIDA

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 17-128

(Reassignment of Marion County to East Central Florida Regional Planning Council)

WHEREAS, on August 16, 2016, the Marion County Board of County Commissioner requested the reassignment of Marion County from the North Central Florida Regional Planning Council to the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council, consistent with Section 186.506(4) Florida Statutes; and

WHEREAS, in 2015, passage and Governor Scott's approval of Senate Bill 1216 revised Florida's regional planning councils, placing Marion County in the North Central Florida Regional Planning Council; and

WHEREAS, Marion County is included and participates in Florida Department of Transportation's District 5, which is essentially made up of the current East Central Florida Regional Planning Council member counties; and

WHEREAS, Marion County is one of the three county governments which include "The Villages" development project and it surroundings; and

WHEREAS, Marion County is environmentally linked with the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council counties through the shared connections with the Harris Chain of Lakes, St. Johns River, and Ocala National Forest; and

WHEREAS, Marion County also shares a significant connection as a tourism source and destination with the ECFRPC member counties;

WHEREAS, Sections 186.506(4) and 186.512(2) vest the Governor with the authority to review and update the district boundaries of the regional planning councils and

WHEREAS, given these factors, Marion County should be placed within the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RICK SCOTT, as Governor of Florida, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article IV, Section 1 of the Florida Constitution and by Chapter 186, Florida Statutes, as amended, and all other applicable laws, promulgate the following Executive Order, to take immediate effect:

Section 1. Marion County is reassigned from the North Central Florida Regional Planning Council to the East Central Florida Regional Planning Council. The updated North Central Florida Regional Planning Council now includes Alachua, Bradford, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Suwannee, Taylor, and Union Counties. The updated East Central Florida Regional Planning Council now includes Brevard, Lake, Marion, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Sumter, and Volusia Counties.

GETTER STATE OF THE STATE OF TH

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Florida to be affixed, at Tallahassee, this 25th day of April, 2017.

GOVERNOR

ATTEST:

SECRETARY OF STATE

2017 APR 25 PM 2: 43