## Chris Carmody

407-244-5649

CHRIS.CARMODY@GRAY-ROBINSON.COM

February 2, 2017

## SENT VIA FED EX AND VIA EMAIL

William N. Spicola, General Counsel Executive Office Governor Rick Scott Attn: Laura Bax/Stephanie Nieset The Capital 400 S. Monroe Street, Room, 209 Tallahassee, FL 32399

> Re: Ninth Judicial Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission Nominees for Consideration

Dear Mr. Spicola

The Ninth Judicial Circuit Nominating Commission met on February 2, 2017, for purposes of interviewing and nominating candidates for appointment by the Governor to fill the vacancy resulting from the passing of the Honorable Scott Polodna.

The Commission nominates the following candidates:

Linda Burdick Thomas Sommerville Thomas Tukdarian Tanya Wilson

Enclosed with this letter, please find the original applications for each of our nominees. In addition, I have enclosed the FDLE "Background Inquiry Response" for each of the nominees. The Supervisors of Elections for Orange, Osceola and Seminole counties have certified that each of the nominees is a registered voter and that each resides respectively in Orange, Osceola and Seminole County, Florida. I have enclosed a copy of the correspondence from each office regarding the residency of the applicants.

Additionally, enclosed is correspondence from Michael L. Schneider, Executive Director and General Counsel of the Judicial Qualifications Commission indicating no prior or pending complaints or disciplinary actions against either of the presiding judicial applicants. William N. Spicola, General Counsel

February 2, 2017 Page 2

Also enclosed please find an e-mail from Kenia Escobar, Public Information Coordinator of The Florida Bar indicating no prior or pending complaints or disciplinary actions of the nominees.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Christopher L. Carmody Chair, Judicial Nominating Committee Ninth Judicial Circuit

CLC/ljd Encls.

cc: Paetra Brownlee (pbrownlee@cmgpa.com) Tad A. Yates (tad@tadyates.com) Joshua D. Grosshans (josh@lseblaw.com) Glenn Gilzean (GGilzean@cful.org) Matthew Klein (matthew.klein@jacksonlewis.com) Molly Nardella (molly.nardella@nardellalaw.com) J. Timothy Schulte (tschulte@zkslawfirm.com) William C. Vose (wcvose@cfl.rr.com) Chief Judge Frederick J. Lauten (ctjufl1@ocnjcc.org) Shirley Washington (ctjasw1@ocnjcc.org) Matthew Benefiel (ctadmb1@ocnjcc.org) Peggy Brice (ctadpb1@ocnjcc.org) Karen Levey (ctadkl1@ocnjcc.org) Vicki S. Brand (vbrand@flabar.org)