Tallahassee, Fla. — Today, Governor Ron DeSantis announced the appointments of Department of Economic Opportunity Secretary Ken Lawson, Department of Management Services Secretary Jonathan Satter and Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Executive Director Terry Rhodes to the Blockchain Task Force.

On May 23, 2019, Governor DeSantis signed Senate Bill 1024 into law, establishing Florida’s Blockchain Task Force within the Florida Department of Financial Services. The Blockchain Task Force will study if and how Florida’s state, county and municipal governments can benefit from a transition to blockchain-based systems for recordkeeping, data security, financial transactions and service delivery and identify ways blockchain technology can be used to improve government interaction with businesses and the public.

Ken Lawson

Lawson, of Tallahassee, serves as the Secretary for the Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO). Previously, he served as President and CEO of VISIT Florida and Secretary of the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Lawson earned his juris doctorate from Florida State University College of Law.

Jonathan Satter

Satter, of North Palm Beach, is the Secretary of the Florida Department of Management Services (DMS). He previously worked as the Principal and Managing Director of U.S. Operations for Avison Young, a commercial real estate services firm. Satter received his master’s in business administration from Nova Southeastern University.

Terry L. Rhodes

Rhodes, of Tallahassee, serves as executive director of the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Department (FLHSMV). FLHSMV has implemented enhanced modifications to Florida driver licenses and identification cards to provide Floridians with the highest level of security. To date, the FLHSMV has issued more than 17.1 million driver licenses and more than 21.4 million vehicle registrations.



Comments are closed.