Tallahassee, Fla. – Today, Governor Ron DeSantis announced $280,000 has been awarded to eight small and rural communities through the Competitive Florida Partnership grant program administered by the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO).

The Competitive Florida program establishes a partnership between the community and DEO to create a strategic vision to advance their economic development needs, while ensuring that the community retains the characteristics that make them unique.

“During this unprecedented time, small and rural communities need opportunities to grow and strengthen their local economies,” said Governor DeSantis. “I am proud that we are able to offer these eight communities the opportunity to create strategic goals for economic growth and diversity, which is needed as our state faces the economic impacts of COVID-19”.

Each of the eight communities selected to participate in the Competitive Florida Partnership Program will receive $35,000 to fund the development of a strategic plan for economic growth and diversity, community design and disaster preparedness. The partnership between DEO and the local communities offers long-term technical assistance as DEO connects them to various state and federal resources to support the expansion of their economy.

Competitive Florida Partnership grants are being awarded to the following communities:

  • City of Carrabelle
  • City of Lake Helen
  • City of Marathon
  • Community of Eastpoint
  • Indian Trail Improvement Project District
  • Town of Campbellton
  • Town of Lake Hamilton
  • Town of Eatonville

For more information about the Competitive Florida Partnership Program, visit www.FloridaJobs.org/CompetitiveFlorida.



Comments are closed.